Savannah and Charleston: Going Home

After a long drive from Williamsburg, we finally arrived in Savannah around 7:30. We had already selected our dinner option for the evening so we checked into the hotel and made our way to dinner shortly thereafter.

Savannah dinner: Sweet Potatoes Kitchen

We walked in this brightly colored restaurant and was greeted by the hostess who told us there was a 10 minute wait. No big deal. We were seated right in front of the bar and greeted by our waitress almost immediately. She asked us what we wanted and I picked up the drink menu and started to tell her I wanted the local beer but before I could say the second word, she said she would be right back. Awkward. Why ask, if you weren’t ready to take our drink order? Anyway, she came back and took our drink orders. When she came back we ordered our entrees. I ordered the fried chicken with a side of mac and cheese, stewed tomatoes and okra, and mashed sweet potatoes with apples. Shonn ordered cornmeal crusted fried catfish with a side of mac and cheese and red beans and rice. I ordered the banana pudding for dessert. Amazing! I have to say, I was kind of dissapointed with this place but that may not be fair. I am a southern African American which equates to me being a soul food aficionado. I felt like I could’ve had better at my grandma’s house, however this food would’ve been great to someone who is trying it for the first time. 

Image

Catfish with mac and cheese and red beans and rice with a biscuit. The mac and cheese was clearly the end of the batch. The fish was ok but couldve used a bit more seasoning.

Image

Fried chicken with mac and cheese, stewed tomatoes and okra, and mashed sweet potatoes with apples and a biscuit. The fried chicken was tasty but oily. My favorite was the sweet potatoes and apples.

Image

Banana pudding. Heavenly! So silky and creamy with banana slices and crunchy wafers. The pecans were a nice southern touch.

Savannah breakfast: Farmer’s Market at Forsyth Park

Redemption is nigh!!

Image

Taking a break from our run to take a picture on a stoop of a vintage home.

After our morning run we stumbled on the farmer’s market. Farmer’s markets just make me feel so happy inside. I love supporting local farmers and businesses. Of course, I wanted everything, even the veggies that wouldn’t last until I got home. After coming back down to reality, I snagged some peach jam from ….. I also purchased fresh dried pasta, tomato pesto sauce, and super tasty melanzane sott’oilio(eggplants in olive oil) from FraLi Gourmet. Do yourself a favor and order some pasta or marinated vegetables from FraLi.. The prices are reasonable and you can count on quality. Lisa, the owner, is originally from Philadelphia so it makes me proud to support her.

Pappardelle Tomato and Basil: One of the pastas I purchased. I can’t wait to try it with the tomato pesto sauce.

Melanzane Sott’olio: Marinated eggplants in oil. I purchased some fusilli and plan to toss the pasta with the eggplant and olive oil. Happy dance!

Shonn was famished after our run so he bought some tabouleh from one of the vegetarian vendors. It was fresh, crunchy, and tasty. It kept him satisfied while I drooled over all the vendor goods.

Image

All in all, the visit to Savannah was saved by the wonderful farmer’s market. Oh did I mention, we ran into a 5K in the middle of our run? Chic-Fila sponsored a 5K race that benefited Young Life, an organization that is dedicated to the betterment of Savannah’s children. The city of Savannah was alive that morning! You will be missed Savannah…

Charleston Brunch: Hominy Grill

I’m home!

We arrived in Charleston around 1:30, right on time for brunch. We walked up to Hominy Grill(another reco from Randy at W&M) and the hostess told us there was a 10 minute wait but we could order a drink from the walk up bar/takeout window in the meantime. It was the cutest little window in their courtyard that also offered outside seating. We didn’t get a chance to order because they had a table available just that fast.

Image

The waiter greeted us to take our drink order. I ordered a beer mimosa and Shonn ordered a regular mimosa. My mimosa tasted like blue moon with OJ. Yummy! Our waiter asked if it was our first time and gave us his recommendations since we confirmed that it was our first time. After being torn with many items I ordered the she crab soup with a biscuit and Shonn ordered the Charleston nasty biscuit(wait for it). The soup was buttery, creamy with crab shining through. The biscuit was fluffy and warm and was a nice compliment to the homemade strawberry jam on the table.  

Image

She crab soup

Image

Charleston Nasty Biscuit. Fried chicken breast, cheddar cheese, and sausage gravy. Words cannot describe the goodness of this sandwich! The chicken was perfectly seasoned, the cheese was a great tangy compliment, and sausage gravy put it over the top.

Image

Cute table setting which includes homemade strawberry jam

Off to North Carolina for BBQ!